A rule change in girls softball will make it easier for a batter to reach base safely.
The change, made by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Softball Rules Committee, states that a batter will no longer have to make a move to avoid being hit by a pitch to reach first base.
I’m not sure I agree with this change. I can understand that a decision by an umpire whether a batter made a move or did not make a move to avoid being hit by a pitch is a difficult one. It is also possible that a batter will move into a pitch to gain first base and a decision by an umpire whether or not this took place will also be difficult.
What is also interesting, if not humorous, is the quote by Theresia Wynns, a NFHS director of sports and officials education, that expains the committee’s decision.
“Since a batter is penalized for prohibiting a pitch from entering the strike zone,” Wynns said. “The committee thought there should be a penalty when the pitcher hits a batter when the pitch is completely inside the batter’s box.”
Is everyone clear on that?